7:00 P.M.




A meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Vigo County School Corporation, Vigo County, Indiana, was held at the Administration Building, 686 Wabash Avenue, Terre Haute, Indiana, on the 23rd day of February 2004 at 7:00 P.M.


The following Board Members were present:  Mr. Kenneth Schuster, Mr. Michael Tom, Mr. Mel Burks, Mr. Gene Shike, Mr. Alferd Hamblen, Mr. Guille Cox, and Dr. Joseph Minnis.


Pledge of Allegiance


Dr. Joseph Minnis led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Resolution of Memoriam


Mr. Gene Shike presented a Resolution of Memoriam for Mr. Lester W. Lumsdom formerly Distributive Education teacher at West Vigo High School, Terre Haute South Vigo High School, and the former Honey Creek High School.




The Canine Companions for Independence selected Riley Elementary School to receive Lara, a facility dog.  Prior to arriving at Riley, Lara was in training for two years.  Preschool teacher, Mrs. Jane Gardner, and Principal Linda Pair introduced Lara and shared the positive impact the canine project has had on the Riley School community.


Information from Superintendent Tanoos


Superintendent Tanoos presented an overview of the many events that took place in the corporation during the last two weeks.


First Call for Citizen’s Comments


(No Comments Were Received)


Consent Agenda


Mr. Hamblen moved for approval of the Consent Agenda.  Mr. Schuster seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


The following Consent Agenda items were approved:


            1.            Minutes – Regular Meeting – February 9, 2004

            2.            Financial Status Report – Period Ending January 31, 2004

            3.            Accounts Payable Docket

            4.            2 Year Old Outstanding Warrants as of December 31, 2003

            5.            Financial Summary of Extra-Curricular Account Activity – Year

                           Ending December 31, 2003

            6.            Extra Curricular Account Purchase of Band Equipment

            7.            Professional Leave Requests


New Business


Personnel Report


Mr. Tanoos presented the Personnel Report for approval.


Dr. Minnis moved for approval.  Mr. Burks seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


Redistricting – Franklin Elementary School


Mr. Tanoos stated that the Board was presented, at the February 9, 2004 Board Meeting, information relative to the Districting Committee’s recommendation on the attendance boundaries for the new Franklin Elementary School.  He commented that since the proposed boundaries for Franklin also affect the attendance boundaries for Deming, Meadows, and Lost Creek Elementary Schools, the committee is recommending that the district maps and corresponding district narratives of the four attendance districts be approved by the Board.


Mr. Danner presented a power point overview of the proposed attendance boundaries recommended by the Districting Committee, as well as the alternate proposal that was presented at the February 9th Board Meeting. 


Following considerable discussion, Mr. Cox moved to approve the Districting Committee’s recommendation on the attendance boundaries for the new Franklin Elementary School.  Mr. Burks seconded the motion.  Mr. Tom, Mr. Burks, Mr. Hamblen, and Mr. Cox voted “aye.”  Mr. Schuster, Mr. Shike, and Dr. Minnis voted “no.”




Mr. Tanoos requested approval to accept the following grants:


            a.            West Vigo Vykes & Tykes Grant

            b.            Professional Development Schools Grant – Deming Elementary School

            c.            Professional Development Schools Grant – Meadows Elementary School




Second Call for Citizen’s Comments


Comments were received from Mrs. Murial Ryan.


Information and Proposals form Board Members


Mr. Hamblen commented that recently this Board has named particular areas of our school campuses to honor educators from our community who have made significant contributions to the Vigo County School Corporation and the students we serve.  He noted that he has always been a strong advocate for recognizing such individuals, and with the construction of the new Franklin Elementary School he would like to offer the names of two individuals who fall into this category to be brought to the Board for discussion and vote.   Mr. Hamblen commented that he believes it fitting to honor Robert C. Mardis by naming the playground at the Franklin Elementary School the Robert C. Mardis Playground.  He noted that Mr. Mardis served as the principal of this school for twenty-nine years, and continues to serve education on local, state, and national levels with pride and distinction.  Mr. Hamblen also proposed that the main drive just south of the new Franklin School, be named Dr. Iverson Bell Drive.  He noted that Dr. Bell was a distinguished member of this community who served as a member of the Board of School Trustees for many years.  Mr. Hamblen noted that Dr. Bell’s veterinary office was located near the location of the new Franklin School main drive.  Mr. Hamblen further asked that Policy BFF be imposed in order to meet the criteria of Policy FF for the naming of the facilities in order to honor Mr. Mardis.


Mr. Tom stated that Mr. Hamblen’s suggestion will be brought back for discussion at the March 8th Board Meeting.


Adjournment:   8:15 P.M.






______________________________  President   ______________________________


______________________________  Vice Pres   ______________________________


______________________________  Secretary   ______________________________


______________________________  Dep. Secy.